First Fruit of my time at Duke

Beautiful new work from Malcolm Guite, the John Donne of our age!

Malcolm Guite

My poet's eyrie in North Carolina! My poet’s eyrie in North Carolina!

I have at last begun my Sabbatical term, and it starts with three weeks as Artist in Residence at Duke Divinity School in North Carolina, a wonderful place which is doing pioneering work in  linking Theology and the Arts. I am writing, and giving, some lectures on Herbert and Coleridge but I am also here to practice my art as a poet, and so I am posting here the first poem I have written since my arrival. I am hoping to make a new collection of sonnets about the sayings of Jesus to be called ‘Parable and Paradox’, and this one is the first to emerge, I hope you enjoy it.

As usual you can hear the poem by clicking on the title or on the ‘play’ button



‘He who has ears to hear let him hear’

How hard to hear the things I…

View original post 235 more words

Leave a Reply

