Nearing the Cross

Upward Joy

We are in the midst of Lent, Easter looming on the horizon. We are nearing the cross and I can hear the Lord asking me to let parts of me die. And I know the world around me will not understand. Those who love us lament that we must change. It won’t make sense to them. ‘Why?’ They ask. ‘You don’t really have to…’ They reason away. ‘It doesn’t have to be either/or…’

But it does. It has to be His way and will if it is going to be profitable, if it is going to be eternal, if He is going to bless it. I don’t want my life to measure up to the world’s standards. I want it to pour out God’s love into everyone I meet or who receive the works my hands create. That requires abandoning the life I expect and following Him. It requires allowing…

View original post 105 more words

Leave a Reply

