Thanksgiving for Companions

For Each Day

vincent van gogh couple in winter sketch

Father,

I can see in the mirror of the world that I am a difficult companion. I have an odd turn of mind that keeps me from immersing myself in activities and interests that other people enjoy. I know that many see me as distant, quiet, and more judgmental than discerning. Some of that, my Lord, I know to be my own personality, and some of it is the strange gift You have put in my hands, of focusing more on the world to come than the one that surrounds us.

So I thank You, Lord, for putting at my side a few people who can understand my oddity. I enjoy the people who have come alongside to walk this path. They are angels of Your word, instruments of Your peace, a lifeline when the seas get dark and I am foundering. Let me always see Your love in their…

View original post 10 more words

Leave a Reply

