The Modesty of Self

I haven’t posted much on modesty lately. I am so fully immersed in my modest ways, that I no longer think much about it. That’s why the nun’s daily clothing was called a “habit.” There’s a lot to be said for the habit, for just stepping into the simple garments meant to just clothe the body, without a thought as to flattery or appeal. Everything I wear is easy, even if I have to wrangle some pins into it right now. My daily dress routine takes mere minutes, and unless I have some unforeseen encounter with kitchen splatter, garden mud or barn muck, I’m pretty much set for the day, no matter where I go.

apron over apron - upper Valley tradition

I used to be a clotheshorse, being slim and pretty. But that was living in what the world expected of me, not what the Lord expected of me. In choosing clothes and spending time on appearance – hair, make-up, outfit – I was making a little idol out of the image in the mirror. It was about ME. Either it was about my feeling like an attractive woman, or it was about me wanting to be just like others. Even as clergy, that got reinforced. I think many of us had a fear that ME would drown in the collar and suit. We even fretted over vestments, expensive lengths of cloth that cost a small fortune, to be worn one hour at a time on Sunday morning. Choosing the right vestments (for flattery and to express one’s innate good taste and brand of theology) was a major issue. After a few trials, I came to dislike vestments greatly. They are heavy, expensive, easily stained, difficult to clean, and a downfall of pride for priests and clergy. When I had several services a day, wearing vestments felt like spending a whole day modelling wedding dresses. The weight of the cloth, the care needed to keep it unsullied, the moving about in yards of satin and brocade – I dreaded it. I switched down to cassock, surplice and black stole pretty quickly. That felt as natural as a dress and apron.

So why was I still getting into the plastic collar and suit? To prove that I was a real priest? To impress others? Some of both.

What I am doing should tell people what I am. If I’m at the altar, or i n he pulpit, or visiting the hospital, I’m the pastor. But mostly I’m a Christian. Part of what I do is stifle that vanity and pride.

Being a Christian became more important to me than being the priest. I identify more strongly with the simple portrait of Jesus and his disciples in the Gospels than I do with the medieval role of the presbyter.

But I needed to stop identifying so strongly with the cultural role handed to me at birth – attractive woman, whose appearance evokes lust, envy, desire, smug approval, or pride. This is what happens when we unthinkingly, unquestioningly, accept what the culture wants for us, without regard for what God wants. And sometimes when we do question the cultural normatives, we still give in, out of fear of being different, out of pressure from those who don’t like our choice, out of persuasion from friends and family who are embarrassed at our rejection of what they accept. Subconsciously, we know that the adoption of a uniquely Christian way of life and its call to separate ourselves visibly will hold us up to a standard we may fail. We may want that opportunity to let our standard slide a bit.

I found that the clergy collar did not require a high standard. Too many clergy have used the collar to hide their sins. Others in recent years have boastfully worn it in the midst of their worldly life – ambition, envy, desire for wealth and status.

God calls us out of that.

And there’s no excuse for pride of modesty either. I see this in evangelical young women, for the most part, mainly because they are the ones who come to me for guidance and advice. There is a lot of initial enthusiasm, and they flaunt their new modest (but fashionable) dresses and headscarves before their less modest friends. They wear modesty rather than are modest. They are not interested in leaving the sinful world behind while aiming for the new Jerusalem. They want to be the Christian character in the game of culture. Others – usually young American women who have read some Amish novels or have seen some “Amish” themed movies or television – desire the Plain life, but find it means Self disappears into the cape dress and kapp. When the cape dress fails to flatter them as they wished, they abandon it. They have not given up the idol in the mirror.

Plain is as much a dedicated life as the monastery. It is a practice of Christian self-denial, and to some degree, all Christians are called to it. The context of it will be different from one place to another, but it is the same. It is a modesty of forgetting the anxiety around the projection of Self. God requires that we become transparent to His Will, both in receiving it and giving it forth. If what we want to project is our own personality, contrived as that is, we cannot be the medium for God’s Peace.

I will say it bluntly: Christian life, no matter who you are, requires great self-sacrifice. It requires great sacrifice of all that we may hold dear in this world. We don’t live in the world of popular culture – television, entertainment, parties, popularity, personal attractiveness, amusement, status, shopping – we live in the Kingdom of God. Jesus brought it to us, and we inherited it with His death, resurrection and return to the Father. We have it now. What we bring into that Kingdom must be beneficial to all who live in it. What we carry out of it must be what proclaims the Kingdom, and the reality of new life through Jesus Christ. It isn’t just a matter of “believing in him,” a brief prayer that we memorize as a talisman, but a change in our daily lives. We are called by Him – really called, like a parent calling a child home at dusk, and no matter where we are and what we are doing, we are with Him and alive in Him, and He in us. When the rest of the world looks for Jesus, they will see you.

from Amish Village

8 thoughts on “The Modesty of Self

  1. Modest dress is easy now to me, but not plain dress. I have decided to stop at modest right now and try to be plain in other areas, spending for example. I think it is important to not walk faster than you can handle then you might lose everything that is good that you gained at the beginning. I see that in my case I have had to be still and wait sometimes which I think is just because god knows how easily I jump into things that I don’t know enough about. I now know that god will call ‘stop there young lady’ sometimes to me and now I am ready for it and know what to do…

  2. That was an excellent post. I so enjoy just going to the closet and grabbing a dress, any dress as it doesn’t matter. I have been dressing and covering for long enough now that I don’t care if people look at me or not! I am doing what I ought!
    I can’t tell you the last time Jack and I went to a party or a movie or any of that stuff. We are home 99% of the time and I am happy that way.

  3. Thank you for this insightful post, Magdalena. I feel blessed by it today. I would also add to the conversation that I often consider my plain things to be a protection. Sometimes I have no choice (by employment standards) to dress more “conventionally” and it is then that I feel the lack of protection of my plain dresses the most. It’s as if, by agreeing to assume the world’s clothing I’ve opened some sort of door to the rest of the world’s thinking. I know I can’t wait to get back into my plain clothes. I appreciate your insight to the nun’s “habit.” I had never thought of it that way but it’s true. It’s so easy to “take no thought” concerning what I’m wearing when I just get up, get on a my plain things and get on with my day.

  4. Magdalena,

    This is an incredible post! Very very wise words and relevant observations about the traps found even in the modest walk; the pitfall of ‘Plain but vain’ that nullifies the Plain,/modest witness is something I believe we all run into (especially those of us who wear a wider palet and include some prints). Nonetheless, I am humbled by occasions when complete strangers come up to me and share – confiding in me their troubles and walk. This happened on the train a fortnight ago. while travelling with my husband and another couple, a lady came up to me (a half partition with glass panel and opening in the vestibule seating near the doors allowed her to draw near and see me plus come up to me (and pat my resting guide dog – if he is at rest, I usually don’t mind folk gaining comfort from him) without drawing near to the others in this part of the carriage) and began to share of her experiences; that this was her first time out using public transport alone since aquiring a significant brain injury and surviving the hard slog that was her eighteen months of rehabilitation learning to do everything all over again. Was it the ‘otherness’ of my situation with guide dog etc or the openness of ‘Plain’ that gave her a sense of security – that she could come up to me and openly talk without fear of rejection or shunning? Does Plain (and perhaps guide dog also) silently convey that perhaps I am ‘other’ enough for the ‘other’ to not be afraid?

    As I mentioned in a post a few months ago now, i used to wonder why such folk seemed to gravitate to me (on occasion finding it disconcerting) However, after the incident before this one, it dawned on me that perhaps this is the ministry of ‘Plain’ and the manner in which our heavenly Father has chosen for me to be a conduit for His grace to others.

    When we take the plain path, we are opening ourselves up to ‘the other’ the stones the builders of this world reject.

    Fantastic article!

    Blessings and God’s peace,

    Sarah,
    Australia.

  5. I used to mend Eastern Orthodox liturgical vestments. It required me obtaining specialty threads to patch holes caused by sparks from the censor. I was shocked and dismayed at the ‘vestment competition’ some of the clergy expressed. Three complete sets @ a couple thousand for the cheapest material and trim and many times that for the more desirable and expensive material were considered the absolute minimum and seven sets (white, gold, dark purple/maroon, blue, red and green) was the aspiration of many. With matching veils for the paten and chalice of course. A great discouragement about the materials was that they had to be dry cleaned – which a more toxic cleaning method has yet to be invented.

Leave a Reply

