Crofting: When Not to Do

Scotland, a croft field

We are having strange, depressing weather. It is overcast, with the occasional storm. The air is heavy with humidity, and the temperature, while not high, is uncomfortable. All the rain and humidity have encouraged the garden like mad, along with the weeds. Since I mostly planted in hills, this isn’t too bad, since I can cultivate the hills and leave the weeds, or chop them back with the hoe. But not today.

The goats are out on picket,enjoying the prolific meadow plants. Since we didn’t mow the back quarter of the lawn, they are feasting on clover, timothy, sweetgrass, oxeye daisy and rudbeckia. The meadow itself has goldenrod and evening primrose and chickweed. I had planned to buy baled hay in the field this week, but haying is delayed by rain. I have no hay left, so they have to graze and browse. I will get hay soon, a few bales at a time as I can afford it. But not today.

Bucky still has a swelling on his neck. It is not CL, as he has no other symptoms of what used to be called pseudo-tuberculosis, a serious goat disease. It is not over or near a lymph node, he has a great appetite and energy, hasn’t been feverish or peaky. Our daughter-in-law, who is a vet tech, said I could lance it rather than having him break it in the barn and get it dirty. I will pick up clean razor blades and some gloves and iodine when I next go to town. Right now, though, I am fighting mildew and mould everywhere, the air is heavy and still, and we have had a huge fly and insect population explosion in these weather conditions. The barn is quite clean – I’m pretty fussy – and I think I will wait to lance the abscess, if that is what it is and not just accumulated serum from the bad bruise he got when he got his head caught in the gate. I suspect the latter rather than an infection. Tara has a bumpy place on her left cheek which I suspect is retained cud or maybe an insect bite. Neither animal is ill, and opening a wound may cause more trouble. So not today.

I am still recovering from my long illness. It isn’t something we think of much, but our skin is a major organ. Mine was quite inflamed and damaged. If it had been my liver or my kidneys, I would have been on all kinds of meds and probably hospitalized. Growing new skin cells takes energy, too. Although I am just about whole again, with minor patches of eczema on arms and legs, and the last of the inflammation on my face subsided and new cells being produced, I still need time to heal. Healing takes nutrition, fluids and rest. I am sleeping about 10 hours at night, much more than my usually seven. I have much to do and I’m impatient to do it. But not today.

I check in with God frequently on what must be done. Turning my heart and thoughts to Him, I have learned to wait on the Holy Spirit, because I am naturally an impatient, active person. I felt last night that I am idling here, waiting for things that may never come. I was about to – horrors! – start feeling sorry for myself. But I do have time for prayer, and study, and paying attention to my dear husband. Maybe that is all God wants of me right now.

2 thoughts on “Crofting: When Not to Do

  1. Hope you are feeling better sister. Have you rested and enjoyed your birthday cake? Jack made a belated birthday cake for me as my birthday was the 15th. I pray you will get feeling better soon. My skin has been a bit of an annoyance but nothing like you are suffering. i will always pray for you! Huggles and hello to your dear hubby and the goats!

    • I am recovering, bit by bit. I am taking a lot less benadryl and the last of the eczema is healing. My face is beiginning to look like normal skin, although it contunues quite dry. The cake was excelllent, much too rich, but scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

