Garden Disaster

Thunderstorms…they happen everywhere. One happened right over the house two weeks ago. Did you know that lightning often travels from the ground to the clouds? And that’s probably what happened here. Our neighbour was standing in his garage when a plasma ball erupted over our roof. He actually felt the shock.

We lost more than half our garden, either snapped off by wind or drowned in a curtain of heavy rain.

The water pump was destroyed, the outside phone switch was so badly damaged that the cover was blown off, and our internet modem was fried. Outside of one phone that had been purchased five years ago for $7, all has been replaced or repaired or salvaged.

Next week I will get a few tomato plants and such to replace what was lost; Canadian Tire has them marked down.

We are still struggling to get the second garden plot in shape. I have heedlessly planted what I called my “Neolithic” garden – it is full of rocks. The rocks will get picked out, the sod busted or moved, and I will get another row of beans or carrots or beets in.

It is not a beautiful garden. It is an example of what one two-bottom plow and two people with a pick-axe and a hoe can do in a short period of time. Some of it may stay in sod until fall, when I truly hope to get fields plowed and harrowed properly.

Lesson: People on this side of the river, at this end of the road, are not farming anymore. We will have to look at our own equipment; I am serious about getting a horse or a team, and a plow, a harrow, and hay making equipment. All it takes is money and a little training. I am being blithely optimistic, because I have no hope of getting the money anytime soon. But God is good, and if the opportunity arises, I will thank Him and rise to the challenge.

14 thoughts on “Garden Disaster

  1. With the forest fires in Eastern AZ drifting here to Central NM weeks ago, even though we live at least 250 miles from there, has made the night air smoky enough that you had to turn on the air and also killed my tomato plants, for lack of proper oxygen exchange. Just shriveled up the leaves and then the rest of the healthy leaves can’t make up for the loss cause by the dead ones.

  2. Good grief Magdalena!! So glad you are both ok. I have been off FB, but wanted to check in with you here. I wish you blessings and a good night’s rest, and may the Lord guide you in all your decisions, and give you strength for all the work you have to do! Love you!

  3. How sad. I am so attached to my little garden; I’d cry if I lost half. I am sure you are made of sterner stuff than I though!

    I think beans would be easier than carrots. You wouldn’t need to dig down as deep.

    • I had to make an effort not to cry and feel miserable! I know, it isn’t good to always be stoic, but I really had to, in this case, accept the facts and regroup. I’ve got some little Parisian carrots to plant, and beets, which don’t need deep loose soil. I’ll save over my other carrot seed, although it is not a good germinator int he first place. I didn’t have everything in, so some I can save for next year.

  4. :0( So sorry you have suffered this setback when you had hardly got settled in – and after all the allergy troubles and health struggles you had earlier in the year, too. May God bless and prosper and protect you both, and you garden.x

    • Thank you, and blessings to thee as well. Fact of country life – sometimes the crop gets damaged, and you have to rethink what you will do.

  5. Glad to see you back Magdalena. It’s amazing what a thunderstorm can do. Colin still has a few plants in the greenhouse for back-up. Have you guys ever owned a horse before? They take a lot more feed and care than most people think. How many acres do you guys have if you are going to grow feed? Would hiring a custom work guy maybe be cheaper?

    • I haven’t ridden since I was a teenager, when I had the loan of a friend’s horse. We have 3.5 acres here, and if we order it early, we won’t have a problem getting feed – its grown locally. I can’t find a custom work guy – if we don’t get our own power, I will have to wait until after harvest and get someone from New Denmark to come over the river.

  6. AHHH!! Your garden!!! Let’s pray that God blesses your new one abundantly. Do these parisian carrots have a shorter growing time than others? Any carrots we have ever planted were the last thing out of the garden except for kale, which often grows through the Winter ( or well into it) and even then, we sometimes had to leave them in the ground into the start of Winter. I couldn’t find any tomato or other plants around here if I had to. I am grateful there was not a fire from lightening, which is not rare.
    Joanie

  7. Magdalena,

    It is a relief to see you back; even moreso that the lightening strike did not, as the above commenter also voiced, cause a housefire. What a shame about the crop, especially considering its place in your lives and plan…especially in light of the painfully short Northern growing season. You’ve been embattled this year…

    I shall pray that your new crop comes in successfully, and that you are able to set everything aright again.

    God’s love, peace and blessings to you and Nicholas always,

    Sarah,

Leave a Reply

