JOHN THE BAPTIST TV – Revival, Repentance, Reformation – Andrew Strom, Paul Washer, Ray Comfort, Leonard Ravenhill » JESUS AS “LOVER”??

This is a re-post from a friend on facebook. I’ve been ignoring these preachers for a while, because evangelists evangelize, and I am already in the Church, right? I give this quite a bit of credibility, as I have heard some of this before; I did not realize how widespread this strange imagery of God has gone. I love my Lord, but, uh, not like this…

via JOHN THE BAPTIST TV – Revival, Repentance, Reformation – Andrew Strom, Paul Washer, Ray Comfort, Leonard Ravenhill » JESUS AS “LOVER”??.

3 thoughts on “JOHN THE BAPTIST TV – Revival, Repentance, Reformation – Andrew Strom, Paul Washer, Ray Comfort, Leonard Ravenhill » JESUS AS “LOVER”??

  1. This is a very old medievel Catholic teaching when sex and marriage were frowned upon and were the people were taught Mary remained a virgin despite being married.Women were encouraged to see Jesus as their own groom.

  2. The Eastern Orthodox teach that Mary remained a virgin, despite being married, also. At least a local Russian Orthodox church here teaches that.

    Lucy, I remember when being raised Roman Catholic as a youth that the nuns were to refer to themselves as being “married to Christ”. I think some even wore a wedding ring, if I can recall correctly.

    • The Eastern Orthodox do teach that, for the most part, although I wouldn’t say they consider it dogmatic as the Roman church does. They explain Jesus’s siblings as being Joseph’s children from a previous marriage. And yes, most nuns wore/wear wedding rings to show their espousal to Christ, but of all the nuns I’ve known, none of them considered it a matter of more than metaphor.

Leave a Reply

