Review – The Road of Blessing

Here is the book I have been longing to read, although I didn’t know it was this book until I received it.

The Road of Blessing – Finding God’s Direction for Your Life by Penelope Wilcock, Monarch Books, 2011.

Disclosure: Penelope is a friend via blogging; you will find a link to her blog at left, “Kindred of the Quiet Way.” I would love this book anyway.  It is a very English book. While my writing is influenced by an environment of boreal granite and wild nordic rivers, Pen’s style is fragrant with moss-covered banks under oak trees, and sweet, meandering waterways.

I have been pondering for a long time how to get it across to people that Christianity is a nature religion – we are inexorably tied to the natural world, the creation God set before us. It seems most theologians and believers see our faith as philosophical, intellectual, urban rather than rural; sophisticated rather than natural.

I was also frustrated that women turned away from Christianity as being too masculine, too militant, too far above our concerns about creativity and generation. I wanted to find an acceptable door into Christian faith for young women who were not raised in the church, or who were turning from the church they viewed as cold and dominating.

This is the book.

It is rooted, and I really mean rooted – in the natural world. It is feminine without being politcally feminist. It is Celtic without being romantic. It is a book about the gentleness of God, about scripture, about a natural faith.

It seeks the seekers. It opens the gates to the road of blessing wherever we are, and lets us in.

It is organic, gentle, inviting, warm.

I don’t want to give away the wonder you will find in this book, but I have not enjoyed a book on faith and spiritual growth this much in many years.

12 thoughts on “Review – The Road of Blessing

  1. As a Spiritual Director, I’m always interested in finding books of this sort; it sounds marvelous. In my education and training with the Jesuits as a Spiritual Director, one of the exercises we were taught to do with Directees ( or Mentees, depending on one’s orientation to the work ) was to get them to name their operative images of God, and since the Ignatian framework is “God in all things” we made clear that God is, indeed, found in everything and for many people, God is found in nature and in their experiences of the natural world. My many years of attending births as a Midwife, and now, in semi-retirement from birth work, still providing Doula care for families, that many women find a deep spirituality within the context of the childbearing cycle; I know I did. I still find pregnancy, birth and parenting to be very fertile ground (no pun intended) for the Holy Spirit to move and communicate within the hearts of women and I feel deeply honored sitting with them as they birth that reality into their consciousness. In providing Spiritual Direction, I feel I’ve come full circle into being the Midwife, “The Kneelingwoman” in the old Celtic phrase, to the many ways women give birth to new life whether physical, or spiritual. I can’t wait to read this book; thank you!

    • Theologically, I was raised by Jesuits. Yes, I think you will love this book. I ordered it through Chapters/Indigo, but it is also available through Kindle and ePub. (OK, whatever that is – I don’t do silicon chip books.)

  2. Read Pen’s post and agree with her wholeheartedly! What a man John Wesley was! And yes, my husband was treated thusly in his previous marriage like that for 17 long years.

  3. Postscript: I will have to read Penelope’s book. I am not one to read the latest books that hit the shelves written by Christian authors, for I have found so many of them to be shallow, self serving and have no depth.

    And yes, many woman probably feel that if they come unto Christ, that they will lose their identity and not only have to submit to their husbands (hopefully they will have married a sweet husband like mine :-D), but their leadership in their congregation, whatever that congregation’s leadership is like. Some are more stringent than others.

    • I think you wil be touched by this book. And we submit to each other in marriage, in love – as we submit to Christ. I do wish people would look beyond the 100 Huntley Street style of “Churchianity” and see the living Christ.

  4. :0) I’m so glad thee liked the book, Magdalena. It is distilled out of forty years of walking in the Way – everything I’ve learned, basically.

    I hope today and every day brings thee into better health after all the misery thee’s been through this winter and early spring. x

    • If I were a gentler soul, it would be the book I would want to write. Although I am perfectly happy that thee wrote it! I have suggested it to a friend to use as a Christian study group text.

Leave a Reply

