Illness

I have been sick for weeks. I’ve spent almost all this new year ill. I am left feeling completely tapped out, fragile as a soap bubble, right on the edge of failing.

This was not a good time to be an invalid. I had much to do, much to sort, plan, plant, sew, knit. But the old body had other ideas, and decided that a good long session of over the top allergic reactions was needed.

I am finally turning the corner. The skin is starting to heal, although I look like I was spattered with something hot. My face looks like I just went through a chemical peel – it is red and tender. Over the weekend, my lower lip was so swollen that it pushed out my chin and jaw; I wasn’t recognizable. I had already had one trip to emergency for the first allergic reaction, which gave me a swollen, distorted face and impaired breathing.  This crisis, I stayed home and treated myself with benadryl and ibuprofen and fasting – 48 hours on just water, because I couldn’t get anything else in my mouth. I slept for most of two days. Finally, the horrible inflammation went away.

I asked for prayers from all my friends via facebook. I think that was what saved me from worse.

I don’t know how prayer works – but God gave us the privilege of joining with Him in shaping life by turning to him with our needs and fears.

God asks us to give Him our spiritual energy, and then blesses us with answered prayers. The more we pray, the closer we get to His will, and the more we see answer to our prayers.

So the Apostle tells us to pray without ceasing – and for good reason.

10 thoughts on “Illness

  1. I have been praying for you through all of these allergic “attacks.” I have also been thinking about your questions about dust mite proofing your bed.

    Dust mites are an asthma trigger for me to the point that the bedding that is not on my bed is kept wrapped in plastic bags and the longest I can go between washing my blankets/comforters is one month.

    With your move and the sorting out of things before the move and bringing out things like “old” wool and spinning it this *could* be part of the issue.

    On the other hand you may be getting pollens on your skin and that is causing the reaction. I’m having a problem with that right now myself.

    I will continue to keep you and your husband in my prayers. I feel that praying for the two of you, amongst others, does more for me than it does you.

    • It has been below freezing here, so it isn’t pollen. I really think this round was triggered by fragrance and flu virus. Thank you for praying.

  2. I’m sorry to read of your illness, as you say the wrong time of the year to be ill, with so much work to do is there a convenient time? However good to read that you have “turned the corner” and your prayers and those of your friends have been answered.

  3. Glad you are starting to feel better! I had mono in grade 12 and I know what it’s like trying to get over something chronic. Allergic reactions are so frightening, the body fighting itself. I had a mild reaction to one of my allergy shots and that was enough for me.

    Feel better soon.

  4. Magdalena,

    I’ve only learnt of this in the past 48 hours (last night to be exact) as I’m not on facebook. This sounds like a most frightening and trying ordeal indeed!! Be so so careful, please…

    I’ve been praying and will continue to pray for our Heavenly Father to bestow His abundance of healing upon you, and to protect you while recovering from any dangers of your condition. I have also prayed that when able, your homestead endeavours will be also abundantly blessed, regardless of any late start to the necessary work.

    My love, peace, prayers and blessings always,

    Sarah.

Leave a Reply

