Food Waste Friday

This was our refrigerator last Saturday. So far, the only things that went to waste were half a pepper that went gooey,  some parsley that gave up trying, and a small amount of sour cream that incubated some penicillin mold. I have cooked and canned, and preserved those luscious big eggplants in oilve oil with lots of garlic. I got the recipe from a facebook friend. It is a real neolithic recipe that involves slicing and salting the eggplant, infusing the olive oil with lots of aromatics, then grilling the eggplant slices before immersing in the flavourful olive oil. I used my crockery beanpot, since I am not using it to bake beans this summer. Served with some of the olive oil and a dash of balsamic vinegar, it was a great companion flavour to grilled koftas – kebabs made of ground lamb and beef seasoned with paprika, cinnamon, cumin and hot chile flakes.

I have some beets left from pickled turnips, so they will become harvard beets to go with grilled meats.

2 thoughts on “Food Waste Friday

  1. I used to have a bare refrigerator, back when I lived alone. And I was fifteen pounds lighter, too. People would look in my refrigerator and say, “Don’t you eat?” I used the fridge mostly to keep flour fresh and to chill the beer. (That’s hard cider on the top shelf, a brand from England called Blackthorn and it is the best, better than Strongbow.)

Leave a Reply

