Modest Brides – Wedding Dress Sources

I spent a little time cruising Google to find some sites that might give a modest bride some direction. (More on what Christian modesty means tomorrow.)

Most “modest wedding dress” sites are Latter Day Saint-oriented (Mormons as they are commonly known.) Honestly, I don’t find them modest enough. Collarbones and elbows show, but at least the dresses cover the cleavage and shoulders. Bodices are usually fitted; if brides want to avoid the tight bosom and torso of most styles, they will have to choose carefully.

Another source for very modest dresses are Tznius (Jewish modesty) seamstresses. Some big city bridal shops will alter to meet tznius standards if you choose a style that makes that practical. Tznius standards are covering from neck to below the knee, at least, and sleeves below the elbow. Any dress with a sweetheart or rounded neckline can be cut higher for modesty, and simple sleeves can always be lengthened. To avoid too much emphasis on the bosom, choose a style that has a one piece bodice front and darts to shape rather than gathering or ruching. A higher waistline will keep the skirt flowing away from the body.

LDS sites:

LatterDay Bride and Prom (http://www.latterdaybride.com). Prices run from $600 to $1000+. Their models are not all long-sleeved, and they run narrow through the bodice.

Beautifully Modest at http://www.beautifullymodest.com. Pretty much same as above as is Totally Modest (http://www.totallymodest.com).

Eternity Gowns (http://www.eternitygowns.com) has a Sacred line that is the most modest of LDS gowns, with sleeves and high waistlines.

Tznius standards gowns:

A Formal Choice (http://www.aformalchoice.com) will modify their gowns to meet Tznius, but these can be expensive although the prices are somewhat more reasonable than other bridal lines. They are in Puyallup, Washington.

In New York, Couture de Bride is a big supplier of Tznius dresses. (http://www.chossonandkallah.com.) For an East Coast bride, this might be a good choice for a dress from a shop that understands modesty.

Chatfields Bridal Boutique in St. Louis, Missouri caters to the modest bride as well. (http://www.chatfieldsboutique.com.)

My advice about ordering a dress long-distance is to A) Get a good understanding of the price – basic dress, additions, alterations, and shipping. B) Ask for fabric swatches. Sometimes there will be a deposit or a charge for these. It is worth paying. C) Ask for photos of the INSIDE of a similar dress and any closures (zippers, buttons) to make sure that the dress will be well-made. (Expect linings, not just raw seams.) If a dress has a zipper, make sure it is long enough for your figure type.

Don’t buy a headcover or veil until the dress arrives; colours vary from swatches depending on the manufacturer’s batch. I would advise the same for matching shoes and other accessories. It may be best to order so that the dress arrives a month before the wedding, in case accessories or shoes are hard to find, or if a local seamstress has to make an alteration.

4 thoughts on “Modest Brides – Wedding Dress Sources

  1. I was raised LDS and can offer an explaination of the wide interpretation of “modest” dresses in LDS culture.

    LDS women who have taken temple vows (mostly married women or those who have filled full time missions for the church) wear an undergarment that is sacred to them and which goes to the knee and has little cap sleeves, so modesty for them requires at least a skirt to the knee and a short sleeve.

    “Sacred” dresses is another way to say dresses to be worn specifically during temple worship, and for this long sleeves, a high neckline and a hem right down to the ankles is mandatory.

    Young LDS women are not required to dress as married women, but are encouraged to wear sleeves in their clothing and to keep skirt and shorts lengths to the knee, so that when they do marry they will not have such a hard time making the transition to a more covered adult wardrobe.

    There is nothing in the LDS definition of modesty about avoiding fashion or being separate from the world, so clothing designed for LDS women typically echos the ever changing current fashion with added skirt length or sleeves added, or with an underlayer of some sort, for instance a long t-shirt to wear under fashionably short shirts or little strappy dresses.

    • I wasn’t aware of the difference; LDS women I have known were modest-fashionable, rather like my Baptist church. (Well, Baptist fashionable, which could be quite a different thing.)

      Thanks for the information!

  2. I must say I fell in love with one of the dresses (latterdaybride, honeyville)with the exception that I will not wear a white dress to save my life. It is my least favorite color and I avoid it as much as possible to the extent that I do not even wear white shirts if I can avoid it.

    I like the fact that I now have a picture in my mind of what I want once the day comes. I only want it to have a bit longer sleeves and that it is blue, yellow, pink or any other color I like. Since I am short and have a rather odd body shape I know I will probably have to do heavy aterations to most dresses so I will probably have a dress made for me. The cost would be similar to buying one if I find the right seamstress and then it can be exactly the way I want and it will fit me. If I would go for something even simpler which is not unlikely I can make it myself although I am a bit to impatient to find sewing ‘fun’ but I have the necessary skills for basic clothesmaking.

    • I’m not one to wear white – my “fancy” wedding dress was almost champagne beige. I agree that the best option is to have a dress made.

Leave a Reply

