Friday, Food Waste!

One. Slimy. Carrot. Yuck.

But I caught it before it infected the others, who went to a happy new home in the crisper. I hadn’t enough room in the drawer, and I’d left the carrots in a plastic bag. I do know better.

We did finish a lot of fruit – I used lemons for lemon curd, which has lasted all week. The clementines were eaten for breakfast over a couple of days. I had pork curry in the freezer, and I added green peppers, cabbage and onions to it and served it over rice.

We’ve got other things in the freezer to use in the next two weeks – chicken and stuffing, stew and spaghetti and meatballs. I’ve got one orange which will go into orange cupcakes and the cut lemon will be the flavouring for the frosting. A cut head of cabbage and more carrots will be tomorrow’s coleslaw to go with barbeque.

Mother Kay will be travelling next month, and then I’ll use my dried beans and split peas, which she simply cannot abide. We like beans ourselves, baked or in a soup.

I learned this week that radish and turnip greens can be used like beet and mustard greens – cooked lightly, dressed with butter or olive oil and malt vinegar. Pick them young or use your thinnings from the garden.

I started a container garden in my old dented washtub, having obtained a shiny new one from the TSC. I planted two bargain tomato plants and two dwarf sage. I’ll get some more herb seedlings at the farmer’s market on Saturday.

6 thoughts on “Friday, Food Waste!

  1. Sounds like a good week. You have made me very aware of our own food waste and I this week we have done well. We keep chickens and they become recipients of leftover popcorn, aged vegetables, and old bread – so I don’t know that I techinically consider that food waste since it is being consumed just not by us.
    We are going back to doing one big shop every four to six weeks with a weekly shop for milk, apples, and bananas. I find when we shop like this we are better at meal planning, using leftovers and stretching the food we have in the house to make it last for five weeks or more.
    As we plant our garden this year, I am making a huge effort to use up the remaining canned goods from last year, we were very productive last year and I cannot believe how much we still have to eat, I would prefer to finish it all before we start canning this year.
    As far as food waste from the garden, we donated two laundry baskets of cabbage to the soup kitchen last year. This year we are planting more than we normally would, with the goal to donate fresh veggies to the soup kitchen and to some Franciscan brothers who our new Bishop brought to Fort Wayne. The brothers live in an old part of the city, they take a vow of poverty, and are open to donations.
    We have had very little food waste this week – Thank you again for gently reminding all of us to be good stewards of all that God blesses us with!

    • I used to feed leftover vegetables and bread to the chickens and sheep. Since it meant I didn’t need to buy some supplements, it certainly wasn’t waste. I realize that I don’t have a lot of food waste on my own anyway, but with a mixed household, we had to become more aware. I could do more in using things like broccoli stems and other less desirable parts of the vegetables, but only so much is going to be tolerated! I am much less fussy about limp lettuce leaves and bruised tomatoes than I could be, I just use them and keep my mouth shut.

      I am praising God for your decision to donate produce to the brothers. So many people just don’t think of that. We had weekly donations of produce, bread and even cooked meals when we had a ministry in the farmer’s market, and it helped us tremendously.

    • Take 3-4 lemons, squeeze to make 3/4 cup juice. Blend 3 eggs with 1 cup sugar in a small saucepan, Whisk in juice, add 1/4 cup softened butter. Whisk constantly over medium-low heat 10-12 minutes or until it thickens and darkens a bit (not much, though). Do not boil! It should be a thin pudding consistency. and will thikcen more on cooling. Put in a bowl and cover directly with plastic film or wax paper,right on the surface. It will keep in the refrigerator for a few days, or it can be frozen. I got this recipe from “Food and Drink”, a magazine published for the Liquor Control Board of Ontario (LCBO). It is given away in the stores!

Leave a Reply

