Friday, NO Food Waste

At least, I hope by the end of the day I will have used the two very ripe bananas, the cup or so of almond milk, (banana bread) and the sliced strawberries (on cheescake). Leftover chicken and stuffing will go to the freezer in a few minutes – and I’m done! While we don’t always eat meat on Fridays, I bought three lovely pork pies at the Simcoe farmer’s market yesterday and we will have those with vegetable soup I am making today – with the leftovers going to the freezer. If I arrange my leftovers well, they serve as quick meals to go in the oven on the days I am too busy to cook. This is so much more practical than take-out! It is certainly a lot cheaper, I know what is in the food, it only takes about the same amount of time as ordering something on the phone, and I don’t have to go out to get it.

I am still minding that we can’t compost here, so I see all the veggie trimmings, coffee grounds and eggshells as wicked waste. They seem to be crying out, “We could have been garden soil! You are condemining us to be methane in a landfill!” Oh, that overdeveloped Calvinist guilt – will it ever go away?

4 thoughts on “Friday, NO Food Waste

  1. I have 4 birds; 2 giant macaw (one Greenwing and one Blue and Gold) fosters (Phoenix Landing parrot rescue), 1 medium macaw, and one green cheek conure of my own. This means I have 4 bird cages – 3 of them gigantic -and 7 bowls of food to process every day. They get fresh fruit and vegetables, dried granola mixes of nuts, fruits, vegetables, and coconut, and pellets. This makes for alot of waste (anyone who has a parrot understands that they take a great deal of joy in making a mess!). I don’t compost either, but I pitch their food into the woods. I live in a rural area (see my avatar from QuakerQuaker.org) and temperate deciduous forest has a fair amount of turnover so it gets eaten or composts on its own. I have to be careful though. I used to throw it in the front yard to encourage the birds for my cats’ (indoor for now) entertainment. I stopped that when I saw a very casual raccoon come out to partake of the bounty!

    As for myself, I changed how I shopped some time ago. I take a basket to the co-op where I am a member, or to the farmer’s market, or to my neighbor from whom I get eggs, poultry, and pork. I shop more often and for less quantity. This is a change for me from my typical (American) Armageddon shopping. I call it Armageddon shopping because we will pursue a cost savings by buying in bulk, come home with bags and bags of food, and then turn around and throw food out as it spoils. Think about how big our refrigerators have become – probably as a response to this kind of market demand. My fridge is 22 cubic feet! Anyway, so I’ve gone the other way. I shop for fresh, seasonal, organic, local food.

    This year I’m taking the ‘seasonal’ more seriously. This means I have to preserve food for the winter. I’m going to learn high acid canning from my sister-friend’s mom (I’m way too paranoid about low acid canning), and will freeze and dry produce. Instead of putting in one or two tomato plants – enough for me for the season – I’ve put in 3 bush and 3 regular tomatoes so that I can freeze, dry, and can them for the winter. The mountain is also covered with berries so this year I will take their harvesting more seriously as well.

    Last week’s curried halibut with black beans and rice was very good. This week I’m going to crock a bit of lamb. I’ve cut up some lamb and a couple of chicken wings (the bone and cartilage in the wings should keep the lamb tender in the crock pot). I’ve seasoned with garlic crushed in olive oil in my suribachi, chopped onions, salt and pepper. I’ll crock it with a little bit of curry, and a sliver of salt pork for the flavor. I’d like to add some coconut milk, but I don’t know what coconut milk will do overnight in a crock pot. Tomorrow I’ll do the rice and beans again. I made alot of rice and beans (separately) bagged and froze it. I’ll use a bit of salt pork in the wok, sautee onion and garlic in it, put in chopped Swiss chard and tomato, cook that down, add the rice and beans and some coconut milk and let it cook dry.

    • Love the cooking tips – I didn’t know about chicken wings and lamb. As for dumping stuff in the woods – I used to do that with anything I didn’t want in the compost heap behind the barn but didn’t want to put in the landfill (dairy products, bones). We had a lot of scavengers so stuff got eaten.

      Our housemate can’t understand yet why I don’t keep the refrigerator packed. I’m willing to buy some things in bulk to save money – package deals on frozen meat from a local butcher, for instance – but I don’t see why I need to cover all possible food contingencies! Yes, we do tend to shop as if its the end of the world and we need to lay ins upplies until the Lord returns. Here in Ontario we have lots of good fresh food virtualy year round thanks to greenhouse gardening.

  2. I wish I had access to greenhouse gardens! My co-op has started showing the miles between the producer and the co-op. Maybe they will have some produce from such a source. Regarding the chicken wings in the crock with the lamb – worked like a charm. The chicken wings had something the deboned lamb needed; collagen and gelatin. I find that if the meat going into the crock has no bone in, regardless of how oily the finished product is, the meat fiber is dry. This was not a problem with this curry.

Leave a Reply

