Food waste Friday, A Day Late

I threw out a banana which I suspect came fromt he store already sem-soft. There was a mere handful or less of soft strawberries, same reason.

What really bothered me was that I had saved a half litre of soured milk (really soured, not curdled) for makign muffins or pancakes, and a houseguest threw it out. Now, mind you, I had just said to her, “Open a fresh litre of milk, since that one is soured, and I will keep it for baking muffins.” Ten mintues later, she tells me she had indeed thrown out the “bad” milk. At what point did I say to her, “Throw out the soured milk?” Okay, calm down, I know. It’s just soured milk. BUt it is so hard to get milk to just sour these days, and it does have a unique taste in baked goods. *Sighs dramatically.*

11 thoughts on “Food waste Friday, A Day Late

  1. Oh, how annoying!!! You tell someone not to throw something out and then she does it anyway… I would be so angry if R did that (he would, I’m afraid). I go crazy when he does stuff like that but thankfully love does make it a bit easier to stand that type of things.

    • She’s not someone with whom I have a close relationship. So I couldn’t let her have the full force of my wrath – and I don’t really want to get wrathful about a small amount of milk. yes, it was about the attitude. Our milk comes in plastic bags and these are inserted into a pitcher. I don’t like this system, but it is the only way to buy milk in quantity in Canada. She didn’t want to bother leaving the kitchen to ask me where the second pitcher was, or what she should do with the leftover milk. I suppose that’s why people in North America throw out 40% of the food they buy! There is a lack of planning, or they are too busy to take care of what they have.

  2. I take the soft bananas out of their skins, puree them and freeze them. I add the bananas together week after week and when I have enough, the household gets a loaf of fresh banana bread.

    • I would usually do the same thing, but this one was at the slimy black phase! Bananas rarely get too soft here, with my husband and a toddler who love them. They have the banana ritual – Nicholas is required to eat bananas as a potassium supplement, so he sits on the couch, divides his banana and shares it with Patience. She then runs to the kitchen with the peel, puts it in the trash, and announces “Mo’ nana!” So off she goes with another banana, repeated until I stop handing over the “tweets.” (Treats for those who don’t speak toddler.)

  3. Don’t cry over spilled milk! 🙂

    Sorry, it came to mind as I read the post!!

    PS Potatoes are another excellent source of potassium – they have even more potassuim per serving than bananas, I was surprised when I learned this.

    • Yes, I thought of it, but couldn’t quite work it in. Of course, milk here in Canda is outrageously expensive, so a little spilled milk is a bit grimmer than when we got it straight from the cow.

      I didn’t know about potatoes. I love them myself, but they don’t make a handy snack. I used to eat raw potato as a child, which would make most people gag. It is also an old cure for scurvy – grated raw potatoes. I learned that in Richard Dana’s Two years Before the Mast.

  4. I love raw potato – whenever I cut them up for cooking I always eat a few pieces raw – it just has a nice flavor.

    How much is a gallon of milk in Canada? Here in Indiana it is $2.69/gallon – cheaper than gas!!!

    • Milk here starts at more than $4 a gallon (or 4 litres), and costs about the same as gasoline. Anything grain related is very expensive right now compared to the US.

  5. I am assuming that grain is very expensive?? Do you know why?
    I know that there has been some hoarding of grain here, sellers holding out for the highest bid as prices have gone up due to increased demand for corn for ethanol production.
    Ethanol production is heavily subsidized by the government and it actually takes more energy to produce 1 gallon of ethanol than the energy itself will produce. (I hope that makes sense),

    Anyway, it seems foolish to divert crops. that once were grown for food production, into fuel production.

    $4/gal milk is steep – when all four of our children were home we went through a gallon a day thank heavens it was not $4 then.

    • It does seem strange, because Canada grows a lot of grain. It must be exported, which leaves behind a mild shortage here and drives up the price. As for grain ethanol – yikes! Who thought of that? Make the alcohol from garbage instead! (If it’s carbon based it will ferment and can be distilled. That’s what liquor is.) When we could switch Patience to 2% milk it was something of a savings. Cream here is about $6 a quart! I said this about goat cheese one day – for the price of about five pounds of goat cheeese, we could buy a goat. For the price of a month’s dairy products for a family, you could buy a cow!

Leave a Reply

