Plain Websites

I am working hard on getting together several posts for a “Plain” directory. Please let me know about your favourite websites and blogs extolling Plain, modest, simple living. If you would like to contribute photos, I will use them, crediting the photographer, of course. I plan to break down the categories as Headcovering, Dress, Lifestyle, Theology, or some such. This is taking some time because I am checking out each referral to make sure that it works, and is as advertised. When some domains go dormant, the domain name gets sold and you never know what it may become. I don’t want to send you places you would not want to go!

12 thoughts on “Plain Websites

    • Yes, people are surprised to hear that there are Plain Catholics and that they have been around quite a while! I hadn’t seen the Tripod site. Now I have inspiration for my next kitchen!

  1. magdelaina,

    the King’s Daughters http://www.thekingsdaughters.com is alive and thriving; I purchase my clothing from them and, even with exchange rates and shipping costs, it remains far more viable than plain shopping here… (half the price of the one Australian provider, though, I am intending to give them a go next Summer.

    I have an Australian friend who has purchasd coverings from http://www.garlandsofgrace.com who are also alive and thriving. their range is lovely, and as my covering maker (upon your advice) seems to be taking a break, I may also try GOG for myself.

    These are good; TKD’s workmanship is second to none, and their clothing is lovely; they will also customize their garments with one, if one wishes…

    I cannot recommend them highly enough. sit down with the customer

  2. Magdelaina,

    I am likely wrong re Bayley; I seem to remember you mentioning that she’s on a break from covering making but I likely misunderstood… I appologize for the inconvenience, I’ll also drop her a message and see if she’s still taking covering orders.

    Blessings,

    Sarah.

  3. There use to be a magazine: “Keepers At Home,” ph.1-800-852-4482
    I have an issue from 2005. There was also a magazine entitled: “Plain Reader,” I haven’t seen that around for several years. It was printed by “Scott Savage.” The is also a magazine entitled: “Home Life on the Prairie.” Perhaps one could find old copies of the one by “Scott Savage.” Scott is a Quaker, I believe he lives in Ohio. Thee could google him.
    thy friend in Christ, Thea Pollock

    • After some checking, I found that both of these magazines are no longer published. “Keepers at Home” was a Mennonite publication, and I would have loved to see some copies. “Plain” went out of publication in 2001; I am intending to write Scott Savage to see if it might be revived somehow.

  4. There use to be a magazine: “Keepers At Home,” ph.1-800-852-4482
    I have an issue from 2005. There was also a magazine entitled: “Plain Reader,” I haven’t seen that around for several years. It was printed by “Scott Savage.” The is also a magazine entitled: “Home Life on the Prairie.” Perhaps one could find old copies of the one by “Scott Savage.” Scott is a Quaker, I believe he lives in Ohio. Thee could google him.
    thy friend in Christ, Thea Pollock

    • I have a copy of the Plain Reader compendium, but haven’t seen anything from Scott in years. I think you sent me his address. I am still intending to write him! Oh, my, and I was just priding myself on getting “caught up” in things. I guess not! So much for pride, which goeth before a fall!

    • I hadn’t heard about this – is it really “our” Scott?!! Well, I can believe it. I’ll do a bit more poking into this, it looks like a good blog topic. I, too, run into the liberal problem from time to time in the church. But, as a bishop said to me not long ago, “There’s room in this tent for everyone.” Maybe that could include those of us who aren’t “liberal.”

Leave a Reply

