My White Caps

This is the type of white cap I wear. Usually, I make more of an effort to get my hair under it, but it was the end of the day, and the loose bits were coming down. I found new ones this week on eBay. Lucille’s Sweet Memories, out of Ohio, often has some, and she had a few more in stock, and I found one more at auction, so I bought it.

It is a light, gauzy fabric, bonded, with linenfold pleats embossed into the back. The ties are narrow grosgrain ribbon. I assume that this is the kind that Mennonite or Amish women wear in Ohio. I haven’t spent any time there, so I can’t speak from experience.

9 thoughts on “My White Caps

  1. Hi,

    I just want to tell you that I appreciate your willingness to share this with us. You are such an inspiration to me in forging my own modest Episcopalian style of dress.

    Catherine

  2. I like it. 🙂 I’ve bought a few of my kapps of eBay too..although I prefer the hanging veil, from time to time I will get the umph and wear my kapp instead. 🙂

    • I like the way the veil looks, but it creeps off my little egg shaped head, no matter how many pins and clips I use. My fine hair doesn’t hold.

Leave a Reply

