“A Virtuous Woman”

I’ve joined a ning (a social network website) called the above, obviously taken from Proverbs 31. I’m not sure we can just go around congratulating ourselves on our virtue (as pride is not a virtue), but in the context of Proverbs 31, it’s a fair title.

The virtuous woman, or industrious wife, of Proverbs 31 is skilled int he household arts, in managing her own ekonomia. She has her own business manufacturing and trading textiles. In daily life and in bad times, she has provided for her household.

I consider myself a Proverbs 31 woman. My chief concern is for my ekonomia, and its care is part of my Christian service. I trust my husband is comfortable with my management and provision, and he has time for his own Christian ministry and pursuits.  I make my income chiefly from textiles, as well, including the various skills mentioned in the passage. I can shear, wash wool, card, spin, dye, knit, weave and sew.

Now, this particular group is heavily Adventist and Protestant in ways I am not, but we have a lot in common. Some of the women homestead with their families. Many homeschool. The group promotes active management of the household, and there are pages on line to compile into a household notebook, similar to my more loosely defined kitchen journal.

The household is an industry in itself. It needs care and planning. Modern life seems to be so whimsical and unplanned, that the idea of keeping a household journal, of budgetting and forecasting for the week, month and the year may be totally foreign to many. We are impulsive people. “What I want, now!” is the motto of moderns. Plan? That’s boring. Too limiting. Live in the moment! Eat, drink and be merry…

And who wants to worry about all that stuff? Who wants to cook, clean, sew? That’s so nineteenth century. Buy it, buy it now, buy it on credit, forget about tomorrow, tomorrow never comes.

Still, the Visa bill will come in the mail. The taxman wants his share. The roof will need repairing, and the children need shoes. It’s like the time of Noah, isn’t it? And then the deluge.

Maybe “A Virtuous Woman” will be a good fit for some of you. Maybe not. I’d say give it a look, at http://avirtuouswoman.ning.com.

2 thoughts on ““A Virtuous Woman”

  1. Magdelaina,

    Upon trying to check this new site using the address you provided at the bottom of your article, (directly cut and pasted) there it took me straight to an errors page.

    As an ex Addie I can understand the strong presence there; most of my time in SDA’ism was spent within the framework of the ‘historic’ church (very conservative) that were shipping out, homesteading and separating 25 years ago!! This undercurrent within Adventism is very strong due to the end times interpretation of scripture, persecution and the like, and that this will be necessary for believers to literally survive.

    If you could be so kind as to repost the link, that would be fantastic; knowing there is another Anglican there w is encouraging; perhaps there is room for an urban Anglican theo student trying to make a go of it in the city 🙂

    Sarah.

    • I left out the “ning” part. It’s http://avirtuouswoman.ning.com. It’s quite an extensive group, with a few Plain sisters. I have to keep reminding myself that the Adventist “Sabbath” does not correspond to our First Day/Lord’s Day! I got a little confused at first, navigating some of their Sabbath information. I am not a Sabbatarian in the same sense. Anglicans/Quakers/Anabaptists have always keep First Day as the Lord’s Day. Some of the early church, though, kept both – the Jewish Sabbath of Seventh Day and the Lord’s Day of First Day.

      I do avoid working on the Lord’s Day, even to doing my cooking on Seventh Day and leaving the dirty dishes until after sunset on First Day. It’s a reminder to me to slow down, celebrate the Great Eucharist, and honour God. Hmm, maybe that should be a post soon!

      Blessings from the Almighty to thee, Sarah. Sorry for the confusion!

Leave a Reply

