It’s kind of fun to “tag surf” – look for blogs that are covering the same subjects as one’s own. But I’ve found that “Amish” is a pejorative. It is sometimes joined with other pejoratives that your mother told you not to say. Can you believe it? Some of the most Christian, family-oriented people in the world, and their designation is used as a synonym for stupid, or maybe something worse. I didn’t stop to look. Can you believe that there are people blogging who claim to hate the Amish? Yes, I can believe it. It’s easy to hate defenceless people. They aren’t going to fight back or even call you nasty names. Or, as one blogger put it, “You can say anything you want about the Amish on the internet.” Yeah, you think so? You are so busted!

As if five hundred years of persecution wasn’t enough.

We are sometimes mistaken for Amish or Mennonite. People are sometimes purposely intimidating, especially towards me, because I am a petite woman who looks like someone’s Oma. I have had people deliberately walk into me on the street, say things as I pass, shout coarse remarks from cars as they drove by (brave guys, I guess.) My husband doesn’t get as much of this, because he looks like the powerlifter that he is and he’ll turn around and give a good hard stare that says in today’s culture, “I’ll remember you.” But he worries sometimes that if I have to travel alone I may run into trouble. I’m not as helpless as I look, and I can still run. No one has really tried to hurt us – except that blue van at Richmond and Oxford Friday night that almost hit us as it raced around the corner, missing us by inches. It seemed a bit deliberate, since we were well into the crosswalk with the light in our favour. Someone please tell me – is there a general undercurrent of disdain for Plain people? Are they getting rough treatment on television or in media?

As if five hundred years of persecution isn’t enough…

